Live Twitter chat with Rick Wicklin - lurkers welcome

2

SAS Press acquisitions editor Shelley Sessoms preps for Twitter chat

Do you enjoy talking about SAS statistics and SAS books? Do you know what Twitter is? If you can honestly answer "yes" to both (or is that all 3) questions, then this post is for you. Tomorrow, SAS Publishing will host its second ever Twitter chat. This time around, we've invited SAS superstar author and blogger Rick Wicklin and the always engaging SAS Press author recruiter Shelley Sessoms to take your live questions. Rick will talk about his popular book (coincidentally celebrating its one year anniversary this month) Statistical Programming with SAS/IML Software, his blog The DO Loop,  and SAS statistical programming in general. Shelley, who just returned from an exhaustive fall conference spree, will share the latest on book topics that she's recruiting authors to write, as well as lots of inside info about getting published and hot topics for SAS users. You can follow or join our conversation tomorrow (Thursday, November 10 at 1:30 p.m. ET) by using the hashtag #SASPress.

We hosted our first Twitter chat in August with two new but very savvy SAS authors Angela Hall and Tricia Aanderud whose new book Building Business Intelligence Using SAS: Content Development Examples will soon be out. And despite some pre-chat jitters on my part, the event ran very smoothly. The biggest problem with running or attending Twitter chats is constantly having to refresh your Twitter stream. And that you can't measure or view attendees who are lurking (not a bad thing) but not participating in the discussion. Despite these small hiccups though, we are planning on hosting a monthly live Twitter chat series featuring authors and publishing professionals. Stay tuned for future posts about this series.

Whether you’re a lurker or conversant, we hope you'll join tomorrow's chat with Rick Wicklin and Shelley Sessoms. Just remember to follow the conversation by using #SASPress and refresh, refresh, refresh your stream. :)

 

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications' social media marketer and the editor of "SAS Publishing News". She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications' many offerings and authors.

Related Posts

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: How to start a regular Twitter chat - Customer Analytics

Leave A Reply

Back to Top