SAS Author's Tip: Destination--RTF, HTML, PDF, and more

0


This week's featured book comes from author A. John Bailer. We published John's book last summer and it continues to be one of our most popular titles. Following the tip below, you may want to visit John's SAS Talks on-demand webinar for some free training!

The following excerpt is from SAS Press author A. John Bailer's book Statistical Programming in SAS. Copyright © 2010, SAS Institute Inc., Cary, North Carolina, USA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. (please note that results may vary depending on your version of SAS software)

Destinations--RTF, HTML, PDF, and more!

The ODS destination that I use most frequently is RTF, both in this book and in everyday analyses using SAS. The RTF destination produces a series of tables that can be easily imported into your favorite word processor. The ODS RTF statement specifies the RTF destination. Including the FILE= specification with the ODS RTF statement is good programming practice even though the statement might work just fine on some systems if this specification is omitted. If you are keen on writing documents using TeX, you might prefer to generate output objects that are in LaTeX, PostScript, or PDF, which would entail the use of the ODS LATEX, ODS PS, or ODS PDF statement. Generating HTML files for displaying output objects might be of interest to you if you want a Web-based outlet for displaying results. PDF files are also great for the Web. The following program produces three different versions of the same PROC TABULATE table using RTF, PDF, and HTML destinations, respectively.

You can view a free chapter from this book as well as reviews!

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications' social media marketer and the editor of "SAS Publishing News". She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications' many offerings and authors.

Related Posts

Leave A Reply

Back to Top