SAS author's tip: Eliminate clipped terms

1

If you communicate with an international audience, this tip is for you. John Kohl is a gifted linguistic engineer, technical writer and editor, and author of the award-winning The Global English Style Guide: Writing Clear, Translatable Documentation for a Global Market. At the beginning of the book, John introduces The Cardinal Rule of Global English: "Don't make any change that will sound unnatural to native speakers of English." And from there he continues to turn out one practical example after another.

The following excerpt is from SAS author John Kohl and his book "The Global English Style Guide" Copyright © 2008, SAS Institute Inc., Cary, North Carolina, USA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. (please note that results may vary depending on your version of SAS software)

Eliminate clipped terms

In a clipped term, the full form of the term is truncated, but no period is used. Like abbreviations, clipped terms can be puzzling to non-native speakers and translators. They cause unnecessary variation, and many of them are too informal for most technical documents.

Read reviews of  The Global English Style Guide, a free chapter, and the table of contents here.  And take a look at this previously featured tip from John Kohl: Write positively.

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications' social media marketer and the editor of "SAS Publishing News". She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications' many offerings and authors.

Related Posts

1 Comment

  1. Good suggestion and explanation. I would add that clipped terms can be confusing for native speakers, too; not just non-native speakers.

Leave A Reply

Back to Top