SAS author’s tip: Bubble plots in PROC GPLOT

2

Robert Rutledge's book Just Enough SAS is the source of this week's SAS tip. It would be easy to turn almost any page of Robert's book into a stand-alone tip. However, today my attention was drawn to two side-by-side pages. One features a PROC GCHART pie chart (and includes a DONUT statement) and the other is on PROC GPLOT and bubble plots. As someone who comes from a liberal arts background, these two looked particularly appealing and SAS user friendly. The bubble plots obviously won this time!

If you find today's SAS tip useful, I'd strongly encourage you to visit Robert's author page. There's some great info there. You'll find free resources including a full chapter from the book, a bonus excerpt, and a link where you can download the SAS conference papers mentioned in his "About This Book" section. Also, you can read a previously featured tip from Robert Rutledge on PLOT and PLOT2 Statements in this blog post.

The following excerpt is from SAS Press author Robert Rutledge's book "Just Enough SAS: A Quick-Start Guide to SAS for Engineers" Copyright © 2009,  SAS Institute Inc., Cary, North Carolina, USA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. (please note that results may vary depending on your version of SAS software)

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications' social media marketer and the editor of "SAS Publishing News". She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications' many offerings and authors.

Related Posts

2 Comments

  1. Some of the most popular hits on my blog are about bubble plots:
    Basic:
    http://sas-and-r.blogspot.com/2010/03/example-728-bubble-plots.html

    Colored by a fourth variable with 2 levels:
    http://sas-and-r.blogspot.com/2010/03/example-729-bubble-plots-colored-by.html

    Colored by a fourth variable with more than 2 levels:
    http://sas-and-r.blogspot.com/2010/09/example-85-bubble-plots-part-3.html

    Note that the last of these is more complicated-- it relies on annotate data sets, not just proc gplot.

Leave A Reply

Back to Top