What SAS users are reading this fall: early book buzz

4

Forget the New York Times bestseller list. We’ve created our own lists for book-bound SAS and JMP users. Besides featuring the top 5 bestselling SAS books at September conferences (WUSS, JMP Discovery, and MWSUG), we’ve provided greater insight by including comments from some observant Publications representatives.

Dennis G. Fisher and Art Carpenter

WUSS 2012

  1. Carpenter's Guide to Innovative SAS Techniques
  2. Statistical Graphics Procedures by Example: Effective Graphs Using SAS 
  3. Categorical Data Analysis Using SAS, Third Edition  
  4. Professional SAS Programmer's Pocket Reference, Sixth Edition  
  5. Carpenter's Complete Guide to the SAS Macro Language, Second Edition

Carpenter’s Guide to Innovative SAS Techniques was the star of WUSS. Art signed so many copies, his pen may have run out of ink!” Shelley Sessoms, SAS Press acquisitions editor

“A very popular preview copy at WUSS this year was The Little SAS Book: A Primer, Fifth Edition, by Lora Delwiche and Susan Slaughter. We had four preview copies on display, and a lot of people asking when it was going to be available. A funny side note: since the preview copy was printed in an 8 ½” x 11” format, I heard many people saying it wasn’t so “little” anymore. We also had a lot of requests for books written by two of our authors who presented at WUSS this year: Art Carpenter’s Carpenter's Guide to Innovative SAS Techniques and Sanjay Matange’s and Dan Heath’s Statistical Graphics Procedures by Example: Effective Graphs Using SAS. People really wanted to get their copies signed, and Art and Sanjay were happy to oblige!"  Jan Gjestvang-Lucky, SAS Publications sales representative

Discovery 2012

  1. JMP Start Statistics: A Guide to Statistics and Data Analysis Using JMP, Fifth Edition  
  2. JSL Companion: Applications of the JMP Scripting Language
  3. Jump into JMP Scripting
  4. Visual Six Sigma: Making Data Analysis Lean
  5. Teaching Elementary Statistics with JMP

“Several users were looking for a good book that introduces the JMP interface and enables them to get up and running quickly with the software. When we showed them JMP Essentials by Curt Hinrichs and Chuck Boiler they were very impressed with how accessible and approachable the information is in the book. We had lots of interest in JMP Start Statistics (by John Sall, Ann Lehman, Mia Stephens, and Lee Creighton), and we recommended that book as a good option after learning the basics.” Stephenie Joyner, SAS Press developmental editor

MWSUG 2012

  1. Carpenter's Guide to Innovative SAS Techniques  
  2. Professional SAS Programmer's Pocket Reference, Sixth Edition  
  3. SAS Statistics by Example  
  4. Statistical Graphics Procedures by Example: Effective Graphs Using SAS
  5. Categorical Data Analysis Using SAS, Third Edition

“Attendees were very excited to pre-order Michele Burlew’s book SAS Hash Object Programming Made Easy. Hers is the first book to go into detail about hash objects.” Shelley Sessoms, SAS Press acquisitions editor

“If you were a Junior Professional or lucky to have been one of the 11 student winners, then MSWUG 2012 was the place for you to be!  SAS Publications, in conjunction with SAS Training, allowed these lucky individuals to select from our entire bookstore the book of their choice, using their $50.00 certificates. Gosh...talk about a difficult selection to make. I’m sure it was – with the array of books to choose from...which one? To add to the mind-boggling decision, a few SAS Press authors were available to actually sign books! Smiling faces and photos with SAS Press authors signing books abounded.” Brenda Hairston, SAS Publications sales representative

Our next bestselling books round-up will include reports from Analytics 2012, PBLS, SESUG, SCSUG, and NESUG.

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications' social media marketer and the editor of "SAS Publishing News". She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications' many offerings and authors.

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: 6 bestselling books at 4 fabulous conferences - The SAS Bookshelf

  2. Not surprised to see Art Carpenter's latest book as No. 1 at both conferences.

    He is one of those dependable repeat authors who always brings something important and useful to the SAS books marketplace.

    Also, not surprised to see "Statistical Graphics Procedures by Example: Effective Graphs Using SAS" in both of the Top 5 lists. Even though the authors and I have differences on what are effective graphs, I continue to endorse this book as a great resource for people who want to start to get to up to speed on the new graphics technology that is now available at no extra charge inside of Base SAS.

    • Thanks Sunil. Both conferences were a lot of fun and it was of course great to have the Innovative Techniques book so well received.

Leave A Reply

Back to Top