Bookstore reports from SAS Global Forum: day 2

0

Nine Publications colleagues describe their favorite moments of day two at SAS Global Forum. A paper, the SAS authors' dinner, SAS Visual Analytics, eBooks, documentation, attendees, and more made the list.

Kathy CouncilVice President, Publications

I’ve enjoyed two full days of conference activities and many meet-ups with attendees. Great folks! I just finished my paper presentation about services from SAS with Annette Harris and Larry Stewart. Good turnout for 8 am. Good questions. Lots of fun.

Julie McKnightTechnical Writer, Publications

My favorite poster at SAS Global Forum is A Week in the Life: A Visual Analysis of Internet Use by School Aged Students. The orange in the graph is "distracting usage".

Julie PlattEditor-in-Chief, SAS Press

Maybe it was the food, but more than likely the company and conversations at the SAS Press Authors' Dinner inspired lots of new content ideas for discussion today. Interesting new projects on the horizon!

Gary MeekSenior Director, Documentation Development

I've attended around 15 Global Forums (many called SUGI), so I'm used to seeing SAS roll out new products at the conference. This year's rollout of SAS Visual Analytics has generated the strongest, most immediate interest from customers I've ever seen. On the demo floor, I've had many requests for the user's guide (it's free on support.sas.com/documentation). Even after learning that folks have tried to make off with our display copies. They are eager to learn the details about this great new offering from SAS. We also had copies of the new Grid Computing and In-Database documentation that walked away within a couple hours of being put on display. It's great to have new products and technologies that are generating so much interest!

Lou MetzgerManager, SAS Publishing Sales

The Publications booth is busy. There is much interest in SAS Certification and our new titles.

Sean Gargan – Director, SAS Publishing

The eBook display in the Publications booth is getting a lot of attention.  Users have a chance to view and interact with eBooks from SAS on a variety of devices.  Lots of users are completing the eBook reader survey and telling us about their online reading habits.  Many customers prefer their desktop and laptop as reading devices but those that use mobile devices and dedicated eReaders are passionate about them!  We're getting input from users that will help drive our eBook offerings in the future.

Jennifer LasaterDepartment Manager, Product Coordination and Process Improvement

The SAS Global Forum demo hall has been buzzing all day. I had a steady stream of customers during my shifts at the Publications product documentation demo station. The new SAS Global Forum Passport program has done a great job of getting folks to visit the Pubs booth, as well as other places in the demo hall.

I was glad to see former Publications colleagues Ed Summers and his trusty sidekick Willie drop by to say "hello".  Ed will be giving a paper bright and early Wednesday morning. I guess Willie will be there too, but probably won't be presenting.

Pat Moell – Manager, Technical Editing Department

Many users said that they could find what they wanted in our online documentation.

Shelley Sessoms – Author Recruiter, SAS Press

It's fun to see how a conference presentation can impact sales. SAS authors Tricia Aanderud and Angela Hall gave a talk yesterday at 9:30 a.m. and we sold out of their new business intelligence book by lunchtime. Authors really are the best marketers of their books.

 

Share

About Author

Shelly Goodin

Social Media Specialist, SAS Publications

Shelly Goodin is SAS Publications’ social media marketer and the editor of “SAS Publishing News”. She’s worked in the publishing industry for over thirteen years, including seven years at SAS, and enjoys creating opportunities for fans of SAS and JMP software to get to know SAS Publications’ many offerings and authors.

Leave A Reply

Back to Top